An advanced research centre focusing on Space, Astronomy, Astrophysics, Aeronautics, Astrobiology, Astrochemistry, Cosmology, and Planetary Science should be established while strengthening existing research institutes like Arthur. C. Clarke Institute of Modern Technologies.

For this, the assistance can be sought from Sri Lankan scientists/experts who work on relevant fields like Sarath Gunapala, Melonie Mahaarachchi (NASA JPL/ SpaceX), Asantha Cooray (UC Irvine), Chamath Palihapitiya (Virgin Galactic), Ray Jayawardhana (Cornell), Nalin Sanarasinha (PSI), Chandra Wickramasinghe (Buckingham), Hiranya Peiris (UCL) etc. By this, research and development of satellites, propulsion systems etc. can also be encouraged.

~ LPPM Pathirana

Vote & Share!


Leave a Reply